EN
NL CN


METHOD

Château Ad Francos benefits from a rarely used winemaking method: the small amount of fruit harvested makes it possible to carry out fermentation in new barrels. This is a very demanding technique, which requires a lot of manipulation of the casks and even dismantling them for juice extraction. It produces more concentrated wines. The wine is then aged in its barrels for 12 months.

To make Château Le Priolat, a latest generation stainless steel vathouse with temperature regulation has been installed in the old cellars. The harvest is gravity-fed into the tanks, thoroughly respecting the expression of the fruit. Then, the wines are aged in new, 1-year- and 2-year-old barrels in varying proportions.

Out of the whole harvest, Château Ad Francos represents an average annual production of 6,000 bottles. The vines whose fruit it is made from are 40 years old on average and give a yield of 38 hectolitres per hectare at a density of 5,000 vines per hectare.

 

 

OENOLOGIST

Perfectly aware of the wine growing potential here, Michel Rolland encouraged the new owners in their decision to create a Great Wine here, which he would make.

The wine’s name was of course chosen in memory of the original settlers and the famous exclamation «Ad Francos!» can now be heard here again.

FR
CN


LA METHODE

Château Ad Francos bénéficie d’une méthode de vinification peu usitée. Le petit volume de vendange récolté permet pour ce cru d’envisager des fermentations en barriques neuves. Cette technique très exigeante nécessite de très nombreuses manipulations des fûts et une étape de décerclage pour extraire les jus.

Elle offre l’avantage de produire des vins plus concentrés, car fermentés dans de petits volumes, qui développent un boisé fondu incomparable. Le vin est ensuite élevé dans ces fûts pendant 12 mois. Pour Château Le Priolat, un cuvier inox thermorégulé dernière génération a été installé dans les anciens chais. La vendange est écoulée par gravité dans le meilleur respect de l’expression du fruit.

Puis les vins sont élevés en barriques neuves, d’un an ou de deux ans en proportions variables. Sur l’ensemble de la récolte, Château Ad Francos représente une production moyenne annuelle de 6 000 bouteilles. Les vignes dont il est issu, ont une moyenne d’âge de 40 ans avec des rendements de 38hl/ha et une densité de 5 000 pieds/ha.

 

 

L'OENOLOGUE

Connaissant parfaitement le potentiel viticole du domaine, Michel Rolland a conforté les nouveaux propriétaires dans leur décision de créer un Grand Vin dont il serait le vinificateur.

Son nom a bien sûr été choisi en mémoire des inventeurs du lieu et la fameuse exclamation «Ad Francos !» résonne à nouveau en ces lieux.